Tags

, , , , ,

Another gorgeous Lancome Color Design eye palette joins my makeup family. This is Rose Romance from their 2012 Spring collection ‘Roseraie des Delices’ by the amazingly talented NZ-born Aaron De Mey (Lancome’s artistic director). For some unfathomable reason, the new 5-shade Color Design palettes still haven’t come to Australia!! I got this one shipped from the US, however they do have the 4-shade versions in stores right now.

As you can see, the packaging for this collection is slightly different from the standard black case with small rose design in the bottom right corner. I do love the original packaging, but this variation is quite nice too. As long as the standard of the packaging is the same, I have no complaints!

The overall base shade and the highlighter shade look almost exactly the same both in photos and when swatched. The lid shade looks different in the photos but then looks very similar to the other two when swatched. I’m disappointed that Lancome couldn’t have given us a bit more variety for USD 50.00! The palette comes with a doe-foot shaped and pencil-shaped foam applicator, which is useful for touch ups on the go. I’d still use proper brushes to apply this though. The shimmer is an overspray which sadly disappears after a few uses.

As per usual with Lancome, the shadows are buttery soft and nicely pigmented. I just wish the colours were more robust and varied! Hopefully I’ll get time to put up a look using this palette soon. To be honest, I haven’t felt inspired to use it yet because it’s so ‘spring’ and the weather in Perth is being very ‘autumn’ right now!

xx

