Tags

, , , ,

Last night I had to find a way to disguise the fact that I hadn’t washed my hair for about 4 days before I went to a friend’s 21st. Unfortunately, my hair is known for being dead straight and stubbornly unwilling to change from being anything but dead straight. I didn’t have time to anything fancy (and I also didn’t have a mirror), so this is what I came up with in a pinch:

I took this picture after coming home, so little bits of hair had already started to come loose, but you can see the overall effect. My mother called it the ‘Sound of Music’ hairdo. I think of it as more of a milkmaid style hairdo, mostly because I don’t want to be called fraulein while wearing my hair up…

It was actually very easy – just three braids (two french plaits and one normal) that were coiled and pinned around the nape of the neck, and then secured with lots of pins and a veritable tempest of hair spray.

I also have a quick look at the eye makeup I wore that day:

I used the Lancome Colour Design Eye Quad in Chic and MAC’s Romp (just to darken the crease). The other products used were Urban Decay’s 24/7 eyeliner in Zero (upper lashline), Stila Smudgestick in Stingray (waterline), and Maybelline Full N’ Soft mascara. This was a really quick look – orangey tones can look harsh so use them sparingly and try not to bring them above the crease.

I have some great DIY goodies coming up to show you! Thanks so much for reading!

x

